Haberdashery Hop

Well I didn’t get my piece finished 😦 August just kind of crept up on me, plus I had some special orders to do. But I did get all the materials gathered and get it started so here is what I got.

When Melissa posted the Hop a few months ago I was excited bc I collect weird objects: rocks, feathers, sewing bobbins, buttons, bicycle chain etc. You name it and I probably have it in my collection for “maybe I’ll make this into jewelry someday”. I have this mason jar of buttons I picked up from an antique store a few years ago, mostly vintage buttons, some plain, a few unique.  This hop seemed like the perfect chance to use them.

image

I found the zipper at a craft store a few days after the Hop announcement and my ideas just stemmed from there. All buttons will be bezeled and edged individually then attached together to form a bib like necklace. The zipper will be workable and act as the clasp as well.

image

I’m using 4 different colors of delica: frost, black, pink and transparent salmon; as well as 6 different colors of 15° : black, frost, orange, color-lined dark salmon, silver and light pink.  I’m choosing color combinations and patterns at random, but trying to make sure I’m not using the same ones over again

image

I’m hoping to be able to finish up in the next few weeks…..thanks for stopping by to see my (unfinished) piece!

19 thoughts on “Haberdashery Hop

  1. Tammy Adams says:

    I’m sorry you didn’t have time to finish before the reveal. Your design idea sounds A-mazing! Not to mention incredibly creative and unique! You’re off to a wonderful start and I look forward to seeing the finished piece.

  2. lilystreasures says:

    I’m liking the color scheme you used with the buttons. The zipper as a closure sounds really intriguing. I look forward to seeing the final necklace. Have a fun August!
    ~Louise

  3. Jenny Kyrlach says:

    I’m sorry that you didn’t get a chance to finish your design… It sounds simply amazing! And so creative! I really look forward to seeing the finished piece… I do hope you’ll keep at it, and post pictures when you’re done. Thanks so much for sharing what you’ve already done! 😀

  4. Karin says:

    This is going to be something! I can’t wait to see it finished. I’m always impressed when I see designers plan ahead, this is something I cannot do, but I’ll work on that.

    • alainnjewelry says:

      Karin I didn’t used to be a planner either. I’d sit down and let the beads “speak” however I have ideas popping in my head all the time and if I don’t sketch them I lose them

    • alainnjewelry says:

      Still a lot more to go! I picked the colors of the buttons bc of the pattern of the zipper, but now I’m trying to figure out the BE pattern to go with the zipper so it wont look weird….

What Do You Think?

