Gemstone and Metal Blog Hop

 

Sorry for posting “late” first thing.  I meant to have this done yesterday but things got in the way….then I went to post and realized all my pics I had taken of the piece right after I finished it  had disappeared! (so please excuse the not so stellar pics as I rushed (so much I didn’t notice one of the antennae were out of place!))

So without further ado…..This is my post for Lisa Lodge’s Gemstone and Metal Blog Hop.  To those who aren’t involved in it you sign up and Lisa sends out a random kit of gems and metal.  You then have about 2 months to create something.  She prefers you try to use as much of the stash as possible but I have to say that I was really thrown for a loop with this one, so I have a lot left over.

I received Sodalite. 

21441444[1] 21602810[1]

An internet search turned up this information: (I knew none of this when I started creating)

Sodalite:

Chakras – Throat Chakra, Third Eye Chakra
Zodiac – Sagittarius
Planet – Moon
Element – Water, Air
Typical colours – Rich royal blue, green, yellow, violet: mottled with white veins or patches

Sodalite brings order and calmness to the mind.  It encourages rational thought, objectivity, truth and intuition, along with verbalisation of feelings.  Sodalite brings emotional balance and calms panic attacks.  It enhances self-esteem, self-acceptance and self-trust.  

Sodalite balances the metabolism, boosts the immune system and overcomes calcium deficiencies.  It combats radiation damage by soaking up electromagnetic smog.  Sodalite treats the throat, vocal cords, larynx and helps with hoarseness and digestive disorders.  It cools fevers, lowers blood pressure and stimulates the absorption of body fluids.  Sodalite can also help to prevent insomnia.

 

The teardrop and rectangle are both top-drilled – which is something I normally don’t work with. It threw me for a loop at first but this is what I came up with:

I used one of the metal rectangles to create butterfly by wiring the rectangular and teardrop sodalite on top.  I added some black glass rounds and some tiered chain for an off-center effect.  On the opposite side I did some basic stringing to add more sodalite and color.  For the clasp I used one of the metal rounds I received in the kit and just pulled a toggle from my stash (it’s a little tight to get on but I can guarantee it won’t accidentally fall off!!!)

 

20140719_145324-1_wm[1] 20140719_145348-1_wm[1] 20140719_145356-1_wm[1] 20140719_145403-1_wm[1]

Please use the link box on the right to visit Lisa’s post for the rest of the hoppers!

22 thoughts on “Gemstone and Metal Blog Hop

  1. cryssT says:

    I have been learning so much from each blog hop.
    Your piece is beautiful and the information your posted about sodalite is wonderful. Thanks for the new perspective.

What Do You Think?

